16th Korea-Japan Forum

August 28–30, 2008
On August 28–30, 2008, the 16th meeting of the Forum took place in Tokyo, gathering more than 40 leaders from the political, nonprofit, academic, media, and corporate sectors gathered to discuss a variety of topics, including bilateral ties, domestic political and social developments, regional diplomatic and security issues and potential areas of bilateral cooperation, and economic development in East Asia.

August 28

Participants Visit with Prime Minister Yasuo Fukuda

Opening Remarks

Yuzaburo Mogi, Japanese Chairman
Ro-myung Gong, Korean Chairman

Session I: Political and Social Developments in Korea and Japan and Korea-Japan Relations

Yasuhisa Shiozaki, Member, House of Representatives, Liberal Democratic Party

Yu-ok Chun, Member of the National Assembly
Nak-yon Lee, Member of the National Assembly 

August 29

Session II: Changes in East Asia and Korea-Japan Cooperation in Diplomacy & Security

Seiji Maehara, Member, House of Representatives; Vice-President, Democratic Party of Japan

Byung-joon Ahn, Professor, KDI School of Public Policy and Management; Member of the Korean National Academy of Sciences

Luncheon Speech: Security in Northeast Asia
Yoshimasa Hayashi, Defense Minister

Session III: Managing Diversified Society and Korea-Japan Cooperation

Kenji Kosaka, member, House of Representatives; Liberal Democratic Party

Je-kuk Chang, Executive Vice-President, Dongseo University 

Dinner hosted by Foreign Minister, Mr. Masahiko Koumura

August 30

Session IV: The Role of Korea-Japan Cooperation in Economic Development in East Asia

Keiichiro Kobayashi, Senior Fellow, Research Institute of Trade, Economy, and Industry

Kyung-tae Lee, President, Institute for International Trade, Korea International Trade Association 

Wrap-up Session

Korean Participants

Chairman: Ro-myung GongFormer Minister of Foreign Affairs

Byung-joon AhnVisiting Professor, KDI School of Public Policy and Management; Member of the Korean National Academy of Sciences

In-joon BaeChairman of the Editorial Board, The DongA Ilbo

Je-kuk ChangExecutive Vice-President, Dongseo University

S.R. ChoChairman, Hyosung Corporation; Chairman, The Federation of Korean Industries

Yu-ok ChunMember of the National Assembly (Grand National Party)

Ku-chong ChungCEO and President, dongA.com; Director, Korean Steering Committee, Korea-Japan Forum

In-taek HyunProfessor, Department of Political Science and International Relations, Korea University

Chun-suk KangEditor-in-Chief, Chosun Ilbo

Ho-sup KimProfessor, Department of International Relations, Chung-Ang University

Hyo-soon KimEditor-at-Large, Hankyoreh Media Company

Young-hie KimEditor-at-Large, JoongAng Ilbo

Jung-il LeeChairman, Jeonnam Ilbo

Kyung-tae LeePresident, Insitute for International Trade, Korea International Trade Association

Nak-yon LeeMember of the National Assembly (Democratic Party)

Chung-in MoonProfessor, Department of Political Science and International Studies, Yonsei University

Cheol-hee ParkAssociate Professor, Graduate School of International Studies, Seoul National University

Sang-eun ParkMember of the National Assembly (Grand National Party)

Yu-ha ParkProfessor, Department of Japanese Language & Literature, Sejong University

Won-bong SullChairman, TS Corporation

Hee-ryong WonMember of the National Assembly (Grand National Party)

Sung-joon YimPresident, The Korea Foundation

Duk-min YunProfessor, Institute of Foreign Affairs and National Security (IFANS)

Observer: Chul-hyun KwonSouth Korean Ambassador to Japan

Japanese Participants

Chairman: Yuzaburo MogiChairman and CEO, Kikkoman Corporation

Keiko ChinoColumnist, The Sankei Shimbun

Yukiko FukagawaProfessor, Waseda University

Tetsuro FukuyamaMember, House of Councilors (Democratic Party of Japan: DPJ)

Toshitaka HagiwaraCouncilor and Special Adviser, Komatsu Ltd.; Chairperson, Committee on Asia-Japan Relations, Keizai Doyukai (Japan Association of Corporate Executives)

Yoshimasa HayashiMinister of Defense; Member, House of Councilors (Liberal Democratic Party: LDP)

Kimitoshi IgarashiNews Commentator, NHK (Japan Broadcasting Corporation)

Hidetane IijimaCounselor, Toray Industries, Inc.;
Chairman, Japan-Korea Economic Association

Makoto IokibePresident, National Defense Academy

Nobumichi IzumiDeputy Chief Editorial Writer, Nikkei Inc.

Hideharu KadowakiSpecial Advisor and Senior Fellow, The Japan Research Institute, Ltd.

Keiichiro KobayashiSenior Fellow, Research Institute of Trade, Economy and Industry

Susumu KohariProfessor, University of Shizuoka

Kenji KosakaMember, House of Representatives (LDP)

Seiji MaeharaMember, House of Representatives; Vice Presdient, DPJ

Takeaki MatsumotoMember, House of Representatives (DPJ)

Megumi NishikawaSenior Editorial Writer, Mainichi Shimbun

Kazuo OgouraPresident, The Japan Foundation

Katsuya OkadaMember, House of Representatives; Former President, DPJ

Masao OkonogiProfessor, Keio University

Yasuhisa ShiozakiMember, House of Representatives (LDP)

Hitoshi TanakaSenior Fellow, Japan Center for International Exchange; Former Deputy Minister for Foreign Affairs

Yoshibumi WakamiyaColumnist, The Asahi Shimbun

Chiaki YamaguchiFull-time Corporate Auditor, Toyota Motor Corporation; Vice-Chairperson, Committee on Asia-Japan Relations, Keizai Doyukai

Tadashi YamamotoPresident, Japan Center for International Exchange; Director, Japanese Steering Committee, Korea-Japan Forum

Kunihiko YamaokaEditorial Writer, The Yomiuri Shimbun