7th Korea-Japan Forum

August 27–29, 1999

The seventh meeting of the Forum was held on August 27–29, 1999, in Seoul, Korea, with over 40 leaders from the political, business, academic, media, and the nonprofit sectors. Discussions focused on ways to further enhance cooperation between the two countries in a broad, Asian regional context.

August 27

Opening Ceremony: Congratulatory Speech

Hong Soon-young, Foreign Minister

Session I: The Domestic Situations in Korea and Japan
Part I: The Political and Economic Situation in Korea

August 28

Session I (cont.): The Domestic Situations in Korea and Japan
Part II: The political and economic situation in Japan

Session II: The Security Dimensions of Korea-Japan Cooperation

The Korean Peninsula
Major power relations
Regional issues
Korea-Japan bilateral cooperation

Session III: The Economic Dimensions of Korea-Japan Cooperation

The impact of and the recovery from the financial crisis
Prospects for restructuring and deregulation
Regional cooperation
Korea-Japan bilateral cooperation

August 29

Session IV: The Socio-Cultural Dimensions of Korea-Japan Cooperation

Globalization, civil society, and governance
Cultural and educational exchanges
Cooperation on information and communications technology

Session V: The Future Agenda for Korea-Japan Cooperation

Cooperation for the World Cup
Cooperation on global and regional Issues
Youth and grassroots-level exchanges

Korean Participants

Chairman: Kwang-soo ChoiFormer Minister of Foreign Affairs

Byung-joon AhnProfessor, National Graduate Institute for Policy Studies, Japan; Director of Korean Steering Committee, Korea-Japan Forum

Jung-ho BaeSenior Research Fellow, Institute for National Unification

Myong-Sue ChangPresident and publisher, Hankook Ilbo

S.R. ChoChairman, Hyosung Group

Woong-kyu ChoMember, National Assembly (The Grand National Party)

Chung-ho ChoeChairman, Korea Commission for Vision 2000

Sang-yong ChoiKorean Ambassador to Japan

In-yong Chung

Ku-chong ChungPresident, donga.com

Jong-sup KilAnchor, Korea Broadcasting System (KBS)

Do-Eun KimMember of the National Assembly (The Grand National Party)

Ok-Yul KimProfessor Emeritus, Sookmyung Women’s University

Sang-Ha Kim

Pyong-Hwoi KooAdvisory Board Member, LG Group

Gil-Hyun LeePresident, Hotel Shilla

Jin-soon LeePresident, Korea Development Institute

Joung-Binn LeePresident, Korea Foundation

Kyung-Tae LeePresident, Korea Institute for International Economic Policy

Si-Uk NamFormer publisher, Munhwa Ilbo

Jay-Hee OhFormer Vice Minister of Foreign Affairs

Byong-wook SeongSpecial Advisor, The JoongAng Ilbo

Dong-won ShinFormer Vice Minister of Foreign Affairs

Sei-Il SonnMember of the National Assembly (National Congress for New Politics)

Sung-Chun YangMember of the National Assembly (National Congress for New Politics)

Heung-soo YooMember of the National Assembly (New Korea Party)

Kun-il YooEditor-in-Chief and Chief Editorial Writer, The Chosun Ilbo

Japanese Participants

Chairman: Hisashi OwadaPresident, The Japan Institute of International Affairs

Tamotsu AsamiDeputy Director, Editorial Bureau, Chuokoron-Shinsha

Keiko ChinoEditorial Writer, The Sankei Shimbun

Hiroaki FujiiPresident, The Japan Foundation

Masaya FujimuraExecutive Advisor, Mitsubishi Materials Corporation; President, Japan-Korea Economic Association

Katsuhiro FujiwaraManaging Director, Keidanren (Japan Federation of Economic Organizations)

Yukiko FukagawaAssociate Professor, Economics Department, Aoyama Gakuin University

Yoshimasa HayashiMember, House of Councillors (Liberal Democratic Party)

Abito ItohProfessor, Department of Cultural Anthropology, University of Tokyo

Tadao KanoEditorial Writer, The Mainichi Shimbun

Toru KusukawaSenior Councilor, Fuji Research Institute Corporation

Iwao MatsudaMember, House of Councillors (Independent)

Hiroshi NakanishiAssociate Professor, Law Department, Kyoto University

Masao OkonogiProfessor, Faculty of Law, Keio University

Tomoko SasakiMember, House of Councillors (LDP)

Ginko SatoChairperson, Securities and Exchange Surveillance Commission

Takabumi SuzuokiColumnist, Hong Kong Bureau, Nihon Keizai Shimbun (NIKKEI)

Hatsuhisa TakashimaExecutive Controller-General, NHK (Japan Broadcasting Corporation)

Yoshibumi WakamiyaPolitical Editor, The Asahi Shimbun

Tadashi YamamotoPresident, Japan Center for International Exchange; Director of Japanese Steering Committee, Korea-Japan Forum