1996 Japanese Young Political Leaders Delegation to the US

July 20–August 6, 1996
Washington DC, Boston, San Diego, San Francisco

The ten Japanese participants traveled to the United States from July 20 to August 2, 1996. Part of the visit was spent in Washington DC, Boston, San Diego, and San Francisco. In Washington DC, the delegation received briefings on US-Japan relations from Ed Royce (Republican of California), majority member of the House International Relations Committee, and Charles Robb (Democrat of Virginia), ranking minority member of the Senate Foreign Relations Committee. The group met a variety of people, including John Hart, White House deputy assistant to the president for intergovernmental affairs, officials of the American Medical Association, and—as this visit occurred the summer before the US presidential election—several Democratic and Republican Party officials involved in campaign strategy. 

In Boston, the focus shifted to local issues: The group was briefed on the Superfund toxic waste clean-up, the Big Dig highway project, and various state government concerns. The delegation then flew to San Diego, where they met the mayor and members of the city council, port authority officials, and the Asian Business Association. The program culminated in San Francisco with a dinner attended by, among others, Jim Gonzalez, former San Francisco County Supervisor, and Michael Yamaguchi, US Attorney for the Northern District of California.


MASATOSHI FURUKAWA, Member, Chitose City Council, Hokkaido (Liberal Democratic Party)

NOBUHISA HORIIKE, Administrative Assistant to Yosuke Masuda, Member of the House of Councillors (New Frontier Party)

EIZABURO MAEDA, Administrative Assistant to Ichiro Kamoshita, Member of the House of Representatives (New Frontier Party)

SHUICHI MATSUI, Deputy Director, Editorial Division, Komei Shimbun (Komei Party)

TETSUSHI SAKAMOTO, Administrative Assistant to Yosuke Masuda, Member of the House of Councillors (New Party Sakigake)

JIRO SODA, Assistant to Takashi Kosugi, Member of the House of Representatives (Liberal Democratic Party)

HIROAKI SUGIMOTO, Policy Staff, Office of the Secretary General (Liberal Democratic Party)

SHINYA TOMOMATSU, Director, District Office of Takako Doi, Member of the House of Representatives (Social Democratic Party)

TAKASHI YAMAUCHI, Member of the Aomori Prefectural Assembly (Social Democratic Party)

MIYUKI YUSA, Member of the Miyagi Prefectural Assembly (Social Democratic Party)

This program is conducted in partnership with the American Council of Young Political Leaders (ACYPL).