2001 US Young Political Leaders Delegation to Japan

November 3–16, 2001
Tokyo, Kagawa, Okayama, Kyoto

The 2001 ACYPL delegation to Japan began their two-week study tour in Tokyo with briefings on Japanese politics, economic and social trends, and foreign policy from political consultants, economic analysts, and senior officials from the Ministry of Foreign Affairs. They then visited the Diet and met with several groups of Diet members to discuss the changing nature of national politics. Later, they spoke with representatives of the different political parties to discuss their policy platforms. Taku Yamasaki, Secretary-General of the Liberal Democratic Party (LDP), and other top officials spoke with the group about the LDP’s policy positions while Diet members from the Democratic Party of Japan (DPJ) and the New Komeito explained their parties’ foreign policy approaches.

At the end of the week, the delegation left for rural Kagawa Prefecture, where they participated in a brief homestay program and spoke with prefectural officials about Japan’s experiences with local autonomy and the prefectural government’s relationship with the central government. After three days in Kagawa, the group moved on to Okayama Prefecture to meet Okayama Governor Masahiro Ishii and the top leadership of the Okayama Prefectural Assembly. Later they visited a local high school, then concluded their trip with a brief visit to Kyoto.


SAILAJA CHERUKURI, Deputy Director, Legislative and Regulatory Review for the California State Department of Consumer Affairs (Democrat)

CHARLES DUSSEAU, Chairman, Miami-Dade Democratic Party (Democrat)

GABRIELE FORSYTH, Director of Operations, National Republican Congressional Committee (Republican)

RENEE HOWELL, Director of Federal Affairs. Brandon Associates, LLC, Boston, Massachusetts (Republican)

COLLEEN M. JORDAN, Member, City Council, Redwood City, California (Republican)

NEAL MORRISON, Member, Alabama House of Representatives (Democrat)

ANDREA NUCIFORO, Senator, Massachusetts State Senate (Democrat)

COREY STAPLETON, Senator, Montana State Senate (Republican)

GENE RANSOM, Executive Board Member, Maryland State Democratic Party (Democrat)

This program was organized in cooperation with the American Council of Young Political Leaders (ACYPL), and with the kind assistance of Japanese program alumni who have visited the US on this program.